Doug Downey Named Attorney General As Part Of Ford Cabinet Shuffle

Cabinet Shuffle Comes a Year Following Swearing In

Premier Doug Ford shuffling the deck today, dolling out cabinet positions in key ministries including to a local representative.

Barrie-Springwater-Oro Medonte representative Doug Downey has been named Attorney General, “It’s a fantastic opportunity.” said Downey. “I’m really looking forward to digging into some of the files and giving good, honest advice.”

Downey tells Barrie 360 he got the nod thanks to prior experience. “I’ve practiced law for some time. I’ve got a Masters in Judicial Administration, a Masters in Law on top of that. I’ve worked as a court clerk, a court registrar on the front lines. I’ve actually got quite a bit of experience in administration of the courts.”

Downey is taking over the portfolio from Caroline Mulroney. She will keep her Francophone Affairs portfolio and gain Transportation on top of it. Lisa McLeod moving from Social Services to Tourism, while Todd Smith takes over the Social Services (including autism) file. Meanwhile, Vic Fedeli has been demoted from Finance to Economic Development, while Rod Phillips takes over money counter duties. Christine Elliot’s more broad Health portfolio is being split into three ministries. Rookie Stephen Lecce taking over education from Lisa Thompson, who now looks over Consumer Services.

This shuffle comes a year after the government was sworn in.

The full cabinet shuffle is as follows:

  • Premier and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs – Doug Ford
  • Deputy Premier and Minister of Health – Christine Elliott
  • Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions – Michael Tibollo
  • Minister of Long-Term Care – Merrilee Fullerton
  • Minister of Finance – Rod Phillips
  • Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade and Chair of Cabinet – Vic Fedeli
  • Associate Minister of Small Business and Red Tape Reduction – Prabmeet Sarkaria
  • Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing – Steve Clark
  • Solicitor General – Sylvia Jones
  • Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks – Jeff Yurek
  • Minister of Children, Community and Social Services – Todd Smith  
  • Associate Minister of Children and Women’s Issues – Jill Dunlop
  • Minister of Labour – Monte McNaughton
  • Attorney General – Doug Downey
  • Minister of Transportation and Minister of Francophone Affairs – Caroline Mulroney
  • Associate Minister of Transportation (GTA) – Kinga Surma
  • Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities – Ross Romano
  • Minister of Education – Stephen Lecce
  • President of the Treasury Board – Peter Bethlenfalvy
  • Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry – John Yakabuski
  • Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines, and Minister of Indigenous Affairs – Greg Rickford
  • Associate Minister of Energy – Bill Walker
  • Minister for Seniors and Accessibility – Raymond Cho
  • Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs – Ernie Hardeman
  • Minister of Infrastructure – Laurie Scott
  • Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport – Lisa MacLeod
  • Minister of Government and Consumer Services – Lisa Thompson
  • Government House Leader – Paul Calandra