Barrie’s RVH to be among hospitals next to receive COVID-19 vaccine doses, expected within two weeks

Province names 17 more distribution sites

Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre (RVH) will be among the hospitals to have access to the COVID-19 vaccine in the province’s next batch of distribution.

Queen’s Park announced 17 more hospital sites will receive doses of the Pfizer vaccine over the next two weeks, including RVH in Barrie. Those regions hardest hit by the pandemic are being considered a priority, according to the government’s three-phase vaccine implementation plan. Healthcare workers, those living in long-term care facilities, and folks receiving chronic healthcare are among the first to have access to the voluntary inoculation.

RVH recently acquired the specialized freezers required to store the vaccine. “In fact, we have two of those freezers available if we have more vaccine than a single freezer can hold,” RVH CEO Janice Skot told Barrie 360. “This was brought in by the federal government through the provincial government to RVH this week.” Each freezer has the capacity for 100,000 doses.

“Following a successful pilot, we are excited to continue onto the next stage of our rollout of the COVID-19 vaccines to Ontarians,” said Christine Elliott, Deputy Premier and Minister of Health. “While we are planning to ensure that everyone who wants a vaccine will receive one, we need to first protect our frontline workers and those providing essential care to our most vulnerable.”

Vaccinations in Ontario began on December 14 in Toronto and Ottawa, and Ontario is expected to receive up to 90,000 more doses from the federal government before the end of the year.

The seventeen new distribution sites are as follows:

  • Windsor Regional Hospital
  • London Health Sciences Centre
  • Grand River Hospital
  • Halton Healthcare
  • Hamilton Health Sciences
  • William Osler Health System
  • Trillium Health Partners
  • Southlake Regional Health Centre
  • Mackenzie Health
  • Humber River Hospital
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • Toronto East Health Network
  • Unity Health Toronto
  • Scarborough Health Network
  • Lakeridge Health
  • Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre
  • Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre