A once a year opportunity this weekend to get a look inside some of Simcoe County’s cultural and heritage buildings and natural sites.
The Doors Open Ontario program allows residents and visitors a chance to discover some of the hidden treasures in the county.
[perfectpullquote align=”full” bordertop=”false” cite=”” link=”” color=”” class=”” size=””]“Simcoe County is rich with culture and heritage and this is a tremendous opportunity to share and experience some of our hidden gems,” said Deputy Warden Terry Dowdall. “Our regional arts and culture sector is a tremendous driver of tourism and we’re proud to work with our partner municipalities and businesses to open our doors and offer this new program for our residents and visitors.”[/perfectpullquote]
More than 45 different heritage sites in the county are participating this year, including:
Capitan’s Table B&B – 423 Hugel Avenue, Midland
Built in 1905, this was the home of Captain David Burke, his wife Lottie, and their daughter Ruth for over 60 years. Converted to a bed and breakfast in 2014, it has been lovingly restored to its original layout and showcases the true craftsmanship and elegance of the early 20th century.
National Ski Academy – 200 Oak Street, Collingwood
Historically known as Tornaveen, this grand-scale dwelling continues to hold cultural heritage value. this 2.5-storey house was erected in 1892-93 for Collingwood merchant Frank Telfer. It became the first property in Collingwood to be formally designated.
Crosslands General Store – 2678 Crossland Road, Elmvale
The General Store was originally built by Henry Crossland and his wife Martha (nee Webster). It was also used as the local post office and gas station. Its prominent location encroaching onto the crossroads is typical of the many general stores that were a common feature of the rural Ontario landscape. The store was operational until 1974.
St James Court – 18 Peter Street N, Orillia
Affectionately known as the “Old Y”, the building, located at 18 Peter St. N., was constructed in 1906 and housed the first and only indoor pool north of Toronto for the next 40 years. The building was a community gathering place for many years despite two major fires; the latter of which condemned the building in 1983. A 100-plus-year-old time capsule will be opened at 1 pm Saturday as part of the unveiling of a new storyboard marking the site’s history.
Other communities taking part are Oro-Medonte, Springwater, Clearview, Ramara, New Tecumseth, Tiny, Tay, Collingwood, Wasaga Beach, Penetanguishene and Bradford West Gwillimbury.