Fifty-Six of Simcoe County’s public elementary and high schools get an eco-thumb’s up

Board is shooting for all facilities to receive EcoSchools Canada status

The Simcoe County District School Board (SCDSB) says nearly half of its education centres have been given the green light for certification by EcoSchools Canada.

The board says 56 of its 116 facilities have been certified by the group, adding it is striving to have all its schools receive such a status.

Since 2002, EcoSchools Canada has been providing independent, third-party verification that schools not just talk the talk but walk the walk when it comes to environmental learning and action. Status is obtained by schools that implement environmental initiatives like recycling programs, waste-free lunches, energy conservation programs, and school ground greening projects.

EcoSchools Canada has given 2019-2020 certification to the following SCDSB schools:

Elementary schools
Admiral Collingwood ES 
Alcona Glen ES 
Algonquin Ridge ES 
Andrew Hunter ES
Ardagh Bluffs PS 
Baxter Central PS 
Bayview PS 
Boyne River PS
Brechin PS
Cameron Street PS
Clearview Meadows ES 
Chris Hadfield PS 
Codrington PS
Cookstown Central PS
Connaught PS 
Cundles Heights PS 
East Oro PS
Ernest Cumberland ES
Fieldcrest ES 
Forest Hill PS 
Hillsdale ES 
Holly Meadows ES 
Hon. Earl Rowe PS
Huron Park PS
Hyde Park PS
Innisfil Central PS 
Johnson Street PS 
Lake Simcoe PS 
Maple Grove PS 
Minesing Central PS 
New Lowell Central PS
Nottawasaga and Creemore PS
Orchard Park ES 
Pine River ES
Shanty Bay PS 
Sunnybrae PS 
Tecumseth Beeton ES 
Terry Fox ES
Tosorontio Central PS
Trillium Woods ES
Warnica PS 
West Bayfield ES
W.H. Day ES
W.R. Best Memorial PS
Willow Landing ES

Secondary schools
Barrie North CI 
Collingwood CI 
Eastview SS 
Elmvale DHS 
Georgian Bay District SS 
Innisdale SS
Nantyr Shores SS
Orillia SS
Simcoe Shores SS – Bradford Campus
Simcoe Shores SS – North Barrie Campus
Twin Lakes SS