Fire bans lifted in some Simcoe County municipalities

Fire bans were implemented at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic so crews could focus on emergencies

Several municipalities in Simcoe County have lifted fire bans including Ramara Township. In a statement, the Township said the decision was taken “to help residents in the community alleviate any mental and physical stress.”

A number of communities issued fire bans at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic so fire departments could focus on emergencies.

Fire bans remain in place in Adjala-Tosorontio, Bradford-West Gwillimbury, New Tecumseth, Oro-Medonte and Severn Township. All of Muskoka remains under a fire ban.

There is no fire ban in Barrie and Orillia.

Check with your local municipality regarding fire permits.