Jeff Lehman Gets A Third Term

Only One of Three in Barrie Mayoral History

Jeff Lehman has done something few Barrie politicians have done in the city’s history: elected to a third term.

Jeff Lehman wins 3rd term as Mayor of Barrie

Mayor Jeff Lehman says one of the main challenges ahead for a new look Barrie city council is the growing opioid crisis.

Posted by Barrie 360 on Monday, October 22, 2018

Early numbers indicated Lehman had earned a significant portion of the vote, over 90% of Barrie voters opted for him. This, following the 2014 election where he garnered 93% of the vote.

Related: New City Council 

His sole opponent, Ram Faerber, brought in just shy of 10 per cent of the vote.

Lehman’s landslide victory kicks off his third term in office as Barrie’s Mayor, a feat only accomplished twice in the 20th century; Ross Archer served as Barrie’s Mayor from 1977 to 1988, Janice Laking spent twelve years in office immediately after, until 2000. No mayor had served more than one term before or since.

Related: Technical Difficulties Extend Voting Hours

Elsewhere across Simcoe County, technical issues delayed results from all communities that relied on telephone or Internet voting. Results for these locations will not be released until all votes are tallied.

Communities that relied on more traditional methods of voting were able to provide results early in the evening:

Area Mayoral Winners

Doug Measures

Essa Township
Sandie MacDonald

Stewart Strathearn

New Tecumseth
Rick Milne

Steve Clarke

Basil Clarke

Tay Township
Ted Walker

Tiny Township
George Cornell

Wasaga Beach
Nina Bifolchi