Orillia names Fred Larsen as Citizen of the Year for 2020

“Fred’s passion and dedication to the Sunshine City is admirable," says city's mayor

Fred Larsen has been named Orillia’s 2020 Citizen of the Year.

The local resident received the honour during a virtual meeting of city council on Monday in recognition of all his work in the community. In 2020 alone, Larsen was past-president of the Orillia Kiwanis Club, president of the Orillia Vocal Ensemble Board of Directors, chair and founder of the Orillia Centre for Arts and Culture as well as chair of their Program Committee, treasurer of Sustainable Orillia, and an active volunteer for the Simcoe North Provincial Liberal Association.

“On behalf of Orillia City Council and the Citizen of the Year selection panel, I’d like to congratulate Fred on being named the 2020 Citizen of the Year,” said Mayor Steve Clarke. “Fred’s passion and dedication to the Sunshine City is admirable. A special thank you to all nominees for their dedication and wonderful contributions to our City.”

Nominees for the 2020 Citizen of the Year Award included Larsen, Fayne Bullen, Shawn and Annette Cuppage, Carolyn Marie-Goodwin, Kate Palmer, Rick Purcell, Craig Shelswell, Orillia Youth Centre Staff, Mariano Tulipano, and Amanda Wega.