Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has closed Canada’s borders to all but citizens

All international flights being redirected to Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver or Calgary

Canada’s borders are being closed to all but its own.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced while in self-isolation this afternoon, that entry into Canada will be denied to all but Canadian citizens and permanent residents. The PM added that anyone showing symptoms of COVID-19 will not be permitted to fly, regardless of citizenship, as Trudeau says airlines have been instructed not to even allow those with symptoms to board a plane. He added this will not apply to family members of citizens, aircrew, diplomats, and U.S. citizens.

” Let me be clear, if you are abroad, it’s time to come home.”

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau

The Prime Minister says only 4 Canadian airports will accept international flights, those of Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, and Calgary. He stressed that any Canadian abroad should make immediate plans to return. “Let me be clear, if you are abroad, it’s time to come home.”

Trudeau concluded by stating these travel restrictions will not apply to cargo, meaning a steady stream of goods and supplies can continue to stream into Canada.