Simcoe County high school teachers honour 48 students for Excellence in Education

Teachers were asked for nominations

The Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF) has honoured 48 Simcoe County District School Board (SCDSB) students with its annual Excellence in Education Award.

Each year the OSSTF honours three students from each high school who made the most of their high school experience, ranging from the most visible and involved to those unsung heroes who are indispensable yet rarely recognized.

Teachers at each school are asked for nominations; the award winners for the school are chosen by their teachers. 

“We are honoured to recognize each of these incredible kids,” stated Jen Hare, TBU President, OSSTF D17 Simcoe. “What is unique about this award is that the students are chosen by their teachers. It is not only about showing a dedication to their academics, but also showing leadership and contributing to their school community.”

The recipients of the 2020 Excellence in Education award are: 

Banting Memorial High School – Emma Mundy, Maria Kothari, Willow Dedels

Barrie North Collegiate Institute – Khang Nguyen, Isabelle Schwarz, Alysha Walker

Bear Creek Secondary School – Tyler Cleghorn, Georgia Ferreira, Mylan Nguyen

Bradford District High School – Maral Azizpour, Alexa Geertsema, Emily Nguyen

Collingwood Collegiate Institute – Jack Czerny, Sarah Forster, Sanna Huyssen

Eastview Secondary School – Ciaran Byles-Ho, Rebecca Cowan, Patrick Galloway

Elmvale District High School – Jordan Nagel, Natalee Schors, Alicia Spence

Georgian Bay District Secondary School – Kathryn Barrett, Parker Brant, Patricia Roussel

Innisdale Secondary School – Alexa Caldwell, Colter Jones, Maddy Stueck

Learning Centres – Chris Sheppard, Laura Burkart, Diana Rodriguez, Dianna Auchterloine, Jolene Nolin Hart, Donna Zhang

Nantyr Shores Secondary School – Mide Olanrewaju, Nick Mooney, Mikenna Richardson

Nottawasaga Pines Secondary School – Maya Aldis, Ella Baker, Emily MacDonald

Orillia Secondary School – Tom Day, Calvin Kudar, Alyssa Mandarino

Simcoe Shores Secondary School – Rosamond Chase, Lauren Handley, Hannah Trotman

Stayner Collegiate Institute – May Black, Kayla Dutka, Grace Millsap

Twin Lakes Secondary School – Jaime Couvrette, Emily Hawton, Veda Sharpe