Simcoe County Public Schools ‘Eco-Friendly’

51 have achieved Ontario EcoSchools certification

Public schools in Simcoe County have been doing their part to be kind to the environment.

Fifty-one (up from 44 last year) have been awarded various levels of certification under the Ontario EcoSchools initiative.

This school year, the SCDSB achieved:

  • Seven platinum – Chris Hadfield PS, Connaught PS, Cookstown Central PS, Innisdale SS, Johnson Street PS, Maple Grove PS and Sunnybrae PS
  • Nineteen gold – Admiral Collingwood ES, Ardagh Bluffs PS, Baxter Central PS, Bear Creek SS, Boyne River PS, Brechin PS, Collingwood CI, Elmvale DHS, Georgian Bay District SS, Hillsdale ES, Lake Simcoe PS, Lions Oval PS, Nantyr Shores SS, Shanty Bay PS, Orchard Park ES, Uptergrove PS, West Bayfield ES, Worsley ES and Willow Landing ES
  • Eighteen silver – Alcona Glen ES, Alliston Union PS, Andrew Hunter ES, Banting Memorial DHS, Bradford DHS, Codrington PS, Eastview SS, Hewitt’s Creek PS, Holly Meadows ES, Hyde Park PS, Huron Park PS, Nottawasaga and Creemore PS, Oakley Park PS, Orillia SS, Simcoe Alternative Secondary School – North Barrie Campus, Terry Fox ES, Twin Lakes SS and W.R. Best Memorial PS
  • Seven bronze – Assikinack PS, Cameron Street PS, Couchiching Heights PS, Cundles Height PS, Ernest Cumberland ES, Minesing Central PS and Sir William Osler PS

The schools engaged in recycling programs, waste-free lunches, energy conservation and ground greening projects.

Ontario EcoSchools helps to nurture environmental leaders, reduce the ecological impact of schools, and build environmentally responsible school communities.