Barrie Lacrosse Player Wins Prestigious Award From The Ontario Lacrosse Association

6 Other Members Of The Barrie Lacrosse Community Were Also Honoured

7 members of the Barrie Minor Lacrosse Community have been honoured by the OLA  for their accomplishments during the 2018 lacrosse season.

Devin Shoreman was awarded the prestigious Tucker Williams “Courage” Award this past weekend. It is presented to the OMFLL member who has “displayed great strength and fortitude in overcoming personal tribulations to participate in lacrosse”. The award is named in honour of Tucker Williams, the son of NLL great Shawn Williams, who passed away in 2014 after a battle with Burkitt’s Lymphoma. 8-year-old Tucker inspired the lacrosse community with his bravery and positive attitude. In 2017 the OMFLL partnered with the Williams family to present the award in honour of Tucker’s memory.



View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Hinda Koza-Culp (@hindakozaculp) on

Devin Shoreman was diagnosed with Genetic Episodic Ataxia when he was 12. The issue will randomly stop Shoreman’s large muscles from working, sometimes even during practices and games. Despite dealing with these side affects, Shoreman developed in to an exceptional athlete, becoming a valued member of the 2018 Barrie U17 Field & Midget Box teams. Shoreman is the first Barrie athlete to win this award.


Wyatt King, Jim Lowe, Josh MacIssac, Jakob Power, Ty Steele, & Ethan Woods were also recognized by the OLA for their achievements in 2018. have been recognized by the OLA for their accomplishments in 2018.

Jim Lowe received the Merv MacKenzie award on Saturday as well. This award is given to the person who has done the most to promote the sport in their city, zone, and province-wide.

Jakob Power and Ethan Woods were honoured for their season with the Barrie Lakeshores Jr. ‘A’ Lacrosse Club. Power brought home the Joe Nieuwendyk Trophyas the most outstanding rookie in Jr. ‘A’ lacrosse. Meanwhile, Woods was named to the OLA Jr. ‘A’ Second All-Star Team

Wyatt King, Ty Steele and Josh MacIsaac were award winner’s in the Jr. ‘C’ loop. King, the Jr. ‘C’ Barrie Bombers netminder, was named the Most Valuable Player in the OJCLL’s Eastern Division. Steele was named the league’s most sportsmanlike players, while MacIsaac was co-winner of the Top Defensive Player award.