Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority bans smoking in all of its conservation areas and outdoor spaces

Smoking will only be allowed in parking lots

Smokers can add this to their list of places where they can’t light up.

All forms of smoking is banned in all conservation areas and other outdoor spaces owned and managed by the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority(NVCA).

The only exception is parking lots.

The restriction is across-the-board including tobacco products, vaping and medical and non-medical cannabis.

The NVCA says tobacco is a major sourced of litter in communities and on beaches. The plastic in cigarette butts are made from a type of plastic that does not biodegrade. It eventually breaks down into smaller components which remain in the natural environment.

“Conservation authorities play a vital role in the health and wellness of communities,” said Kyra Howes, Manager of Lands and Operations at the NVCA. “This new policy strengthens NVCA’s commitment to the health of the community and also reinforces the importance of living smoke free.”

NVCA’s Conservation Areas include:

Edenvale Conservation Area (Township of Springwater)

Elba Wetlands (Township of Amaranth)

Historic Fort Willow Conservation Area (Township of Springwater)

Glencairn Conservation Area (Township of Adjala-Tosorontio)

Minesing Wetlands (Township of Clearview and Township of Springwater)

New Lowell Conservation Area (Township of Clearview)

Nottawasaga Bluffs Conservation Area (Township of Clearview)

Osprey Wetlands Conservation Area (​Municipality of the Grey Highlands)

Petun Conservation Area (Town of Blue Mountains)

Tiffin Conservation Area (Township of Essa)

Tottenham Conservation Area (Town of New Tecumseth)

Utopia Conservation Area (Township of Essa)

For more information about the dangers of smoking, visit the Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit’s website at