Simcoe County rethinks paramedic toy drive due pandemic

Residents are being encouraged to donate virtually

Simcoe County paramedics have reimagined their 2020 toy drive.With the pandemic still front and centre in our lives, paramedics have changed things up a bit.

While they will continue to accept donations of new, unwrapped toys at paramedic stations, this year, residents are encouraged to consider donating virtually Gift cards can be dropped off at paramedic stations, and physical items will be quarantined and/or disinfected prior to processing, as per infection control recommendations from Public Health.

Over the last 17 years, the Toy Drive has collected 844,265 toys, 37,180 pounds of food and more than $172,250 in cash and gift card donations for families across Simcoe County.

“During the best of times, the holidays can be exceptionally stressful for families in need,” said Warden George Cornell. “Given the challenges that so many of our residents continue to face during this pandemic, we anticipate that the impact of community generosity will be even greater this year. We are grateful to our residents and businesses for your continued support, and thankful to our paramedics, who have faced COVID-19 head on, and remain committed to volunteering their time to support our communities.

All Toy Drive donations are distributed to local children and families in need by charitable organizations working in partnership with County of Simcoe Paramedic Services.

Donations of non-perishable food items and new, unwrapped toys can be made at the County of Simcoe Administration Centre, 1110 Highway 26 in Midhurst between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. and at all of County of Simcoe paramedic stations, where outdoor drop boxes are available.


  • Alliston – 6933 Industrial Parkway, Alliston
  • Angus – 1 Tree Top Street, Angus
  • Barrie Simcoe Emergency Services Campus – 110 Fairview Drive, Barrie
  • Barrie North – 667 Bayfield Street, Barrie
  • Barrie Tiffin – 113 Tiffin Street, Barrie
  • Beeton – 51 Main Street East, Beeton
  • Bradford – 170 Artesian Industrial Parkway, Units 6 & 7, Bradford
  • Coldwater – 1 Firehall Lane, Coldwater
  • Collingwood – 169 St. Paul Street, Collingwood
  • Craighurst – 2298 Horseshoe Valley Road, Oro-Medonte
  • Elmvale – 17 Allenwood Road, Elmvale
  • Midland – 395 Cranston Crescent, Midland
  • Orillia – 68 West Street, Orillia
  • Stayner – 6993 Highway 26, Stayner
  • Stroud – 2394 Victoria Street West, Stroud
  • Wasaga Beach – 23 Oxbow Park Road, Wasaga Beach
  • Washago – 401 Anchor Drive, Severn

Stores across the county will also be accepting gift card donations. For an up-to-date list, visit Please ensure the value is listed on the gift card to assist with processing and distribution.