Toronto to remain in Stage 1 recovery; province gives green light for other regions to move to Stage 2

Seven other regions to join Simcoe Muskoka in Stage 2

The City of Toronto will remain in Stage 1 of the province’s plan to reopen the Ontario economy, while seven other regions have been given the green light to move to Stage 2.

Premier Doug Ford announced on Monday the seven regions (listed below) can enter Stage 2 due to positive trends of key public health indicators at the local level, including lower transmission of COVID-19. These regions are also said to have sufficient hospital capacity and health unit contact management should further cases come about.

“Thanks to the collective efforts of our frontline health care workers and the people in these regions to stop the spread of COVID-19, more businesses will be able to open their doors and thousands of people will be able to go back to work and put food on the table,” said Premier Ford. “With the public health trends improving day by day across the province, I am hopeful all regions of Ontario will enter Stage 2 very soon. But we must remain on our guard to prevent any potential surge or secondary wave by continuing to follow the sound advice of our public health officials.”

Businesses and services that fall under the following health unit regions will be permitted to reopen as of 12:01 a.m. Friday, June 19:

  • Durham Region Health Department;
  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit;
  • Halton Region Health Department;
  • Hamilton Public Health Services;
  • Lambton Health Unit;
  • Niagara Region Public Health Department; and
  • York Region Public Health Services.

These are in addition to the 24 regions permitted to enter Stage 2 last Friday, including the Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit.

Meanwhile, Toronto Public Health, Peel Public Health, and Windsor-Essex County Health Unit will remain in Stage 1 as health officials watch for health indicators that would demonstrate a readiness to move into Stage 2.