Oscars 2020: “Parasite” wins Best Picture — Full list of winners

First time a foreign language film has won Best Picture

“Parasite” was the big winner of the night, taking home Best International Film and Best Picture. Bong Joon Ho won the Academy Award for Best Director as well. This is the first time in the history of the Academy Awards a foreign language film has won Best Picture.

Todd Phillips’ “Joker” led the Oscar nominations with 11, including best picture. It was closely followed by Martin Scorsese‘s crime drama “The Irishman,” Quentin Tarantino’s “Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood” and Sam Mendes‘ World War I epic “1917,” each of which earned 10 nominations.

Brad Pitt took home his first Oscar by winning Best Supporting Actor for his role in “One Upon a Time … In Hollywood.” Laura Dern also received her first-ever Academy Award, winning Best Supporting Actress.

Best Picture

  • “Parasite” — Kwak Sin Ae and Bong Joon Ho, Producers — Winner

Actress in a Leading Role

  • Renée Zellweger — “Judy” — Winner

Actor in a Leading Role

  • Joaquin Phoenix — “Joker” — Winner


  • “Parasite” — Bong Joon Ho — Winner  

Best Original Song

  • (I’m Gonna) Love me Again — from “Rocketman”; Music by Elton John; Lyric by Bernie Taupin — Winner

Best Original Score

  • “Joker” — Hildur Guðnadóttir — Winner

International Feature Film

  • “Parasite” — South Korea — Winner

Makeup and Hairstyling

  • “Bombshell” — Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan and Vivian Baker — Winner

Visual Effects

  • “1917” — Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler and Dominic Tuohy — Winner

Film Editing

  • “Ford v Ferrari” — Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland — Winner


  • “1917” — Roger Deakins — Winner

Sound Mixing

  • “1917” — Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson — Winner

Sound Editing

  • “Ford v Ferrari” — Donald Sylvester — Winner

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Laura Dern — “Marriage Story” — Winner

Documentary Short Subject

  • “Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)” — Carol Dysinger and Elena Andreicheva — Winner

Documentary Feature

  • “American Factory” — Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert and Jeff Reichert — Winner

Costume Design

  • “Little Women” — Jacqueline Durran — Winner

Production Design

  • Once Upon a Time … In Hollywood” — Production Design: Barbara Ling; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh — Winner  

Short Film (Live Action)

  • “The Neighbors’ Window” — Marshall Curry — Winner

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • “Jojo Rabbit” — Taika Waititi — Winner

Best Original Screenplay

  • “Parasite” — Bong Joon Ho, Han Jin Won; Story by Bong Joon Ho — Winner

Short Film (Animated)

  • Hair Love” — Matthew A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver — Winner 

Animated Feature Film

  • “Toy Story 4” — Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen and Jonas Rivera — Winner

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Brad Pitt — “Once upon a Time … in Hollywood”  — Winner

feature image via YouTube