Results Poured in for Election Night 2.0

Online and Phone Votes Finally Tallied Following Technical Snafu

After some gremlins got in the voting machine last night, results came in fast and furious for communities relying on online and phone voting. Those municipalities that still needed to declare a winner were able to do so by 9:30 Tuesday night.

Bradford West Gwillimbury re-elected Rob Keffer by a wide margin, over 6,000 votes separated him from his runner up.

In Collingwood, Brian Saunderson has been elected.

Related: Company Behind Online and Phone Voting Blaming Toronto Data Centre Traffic Cap

Lynn Dollin has been elected the newest Innisfil mayor. Innisfil was going to see someone new in the mayor’s chair no matter which way the vote went, Gord Wauchope chose not to run for re-election this time around.

Harry Hughes has been re-elected Mayor of Oro Medonte, a role he has held since first being elected to it in 2006.

Meanwhile, Penetanguishene has elected Douglas Leroux, while his only opponent dropped out of the race too late to have his name removed from the ballot.

Don Allen has been elected Mayor of Springwater, defeating incumbent Bill French by less than one hundred votes.

Election results were delayed, after a technical issue plagued every community across Ontario that relied on online and telephone voting. The technology provider, Dominion Voting, blamed a Toronto-based data centre for the issue, saying an unauthorized digital speed limit was imposed.

Related: Jeff Lehman Gets A Third Term

Those communities that opted for more traditional methods of casting a ballot, like Barrie, Orillia, and Essa Township, were able to announce victors early last evening, within hours of polls closing.

All election results are unofficial until verified by a municipal authority such as town clerk.