RVH Welcomes New Chair, Board Members

Charlotte Wallis named new board chairperson

The Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre (RVH) Board of Directors has a new chairperson.

Charlotte Wallis was named to the post at the RVH Annual General Meeting (AGM). She will serve a two-year term.

Wallis joined the RVH Board of Directors in June 2014. She recently retired from her role as Regional Vice President at RBC Royal Bank

“Charlotte brings a diverse background of leadership, knowledge and community experience to this role. “She has been an active member on our board for many years, her guidance and immense knowledge in governance and healthcare issues will be vital to the board moving forward.”

– Janice Skot, RVH president and CEO

The volunteer-based Board of Directors acts as a link between the health centre and the communities it serves, monitoring performance standards and financial accountability, and ensuring RVH delivers on its strategic plan.

Also at the AGM Doug Frost, was elected as the board’s first vice-chair and Michael Gleason was elected second vice-chair. Karen Hansen was also welcomed as a new member of the RVH Board of Directors. Effective in September, Dr. David Boushy will become president of the RVH Medical Staff Association and Dr. Marco Vennettilli will take on the role of vice president.

The RVH Foundation Board also saw a change in leadership. Doug Moody takes on the role of chairperson from John Byles. Doug previously served as vice chair of the Foundation board and has over 34 years of experience as a local business owner and most recently, as the Chief Operating Officer at Barriston Law. Paul Larche was elected as vice chair of the Foundation Board and new members Estelle King and Kelly Whitaker were welcomed.

RVH extended thanks to outgoing chair Michael O’Keefe for his commitment as chair over the past two years.

banner image via Nat Caron Photography