RVH welcomes nine new family medicine physicians to residency program

May help alleviate doctor shortage

Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre (RVH) has welcomed another group of residents beginning their final two years of training in the health centre’s Family Medicine Teaching Unit (FMTU). The program recently welcomed nine new residents, which should help ease the shortage of family physicians in the area. many of these residents, over the years, have stayed in the community and opened their own practices once they are finished their residency.

“These residents will have the opportunity to practice medicine with a full caseload of patients while gaining invaluable knowledge as they work alongside RVH’s many skilled physicians. “It is an extraordinary environment in which to learn to become well-rounded and well-trained family physicians.”

– Dr. Stu Murdoch, Academic Chief of Family Medicine, RVH, and Director, Postgraduate Education, University of Toronto, Department of Family & Community Medicine

Since the program began in 2009, 70 family medicine residents have trained at RVH, with 37 staying in the area to set up their own practices, provide temporary coverage for area physicians or work in the health centre’s Emergency and Hospitalist departments.

“As a teaching hospital we merge education and healthcare excellence in such a way that we have a significant, positive impact on our community. As we focus our efforts on increasing the teaching and research opportunities available at RVH, we plan to continue growing, and hopefully keeping, exceptional physicians in this region.”

– Janice Skot, RVH president and CEO

In addition to welcoming the new residents, RVH also extends congratulations to the residents who graduated from the program this year including Drs. Moe El-Youssef; Jeremy Gross; Joshua Yuen; Amy Huang; Cameron Spence; Anastasiya Nelyubina and Terry Lynd.

Standing with FMTU co-site directors Dr. Brent Elsey (front, far left) and Dr. Christine Stewart (front, far right) are Dr. Mackenzie Chown; Dr. Daniel Passafiume; Dr. Dushyaan Sri Renganathan; Dr. Li Yin; and (front row) Dr. Dominique Pike; Dr. Taylor Ward-Able; Dr. Lynda Ekeh; Dr. Mark von Allmen, and Dr. Mayer Grunfeld.